Lone Moon Ritual (New Moon)

Tonight I will be doing my first lone moon ritual for my second degree. It is a new moon tonight, and while many believe this is not a good time for magick, it is still a great time for reflection and devotion. Below is the ritual I will be doing. I will journal about the ritual, but I will be doing so in my Book of Shadows. I like to keep some of my intimate moments with the Divine private-I hope you don’t mind :-). Please feel free to use any of the ritual below. It is a mix from my usual Sunday night ritual, my initation ritual (my mentor Angie wrote), and a website (that I reference in the ritual below).

Blessings,

Hoi Sum

 

Lone Moon Ritual

Monday November 16, 2009

 

1. Ritual Bath

2. Get all ritual supplies on altar ready and light candles

3. Ground and Center my Energy

4. Draw up a circle with my athame.  I chant three times, “I am protected by your might oh gracious Goddess day and night. Thrice around the circle’s bound. Sink all evil into the ground.”

“My circle is cast. So mote it be.”

5. I use my wand to draw “pentacle” portals for the elements and spirits to enter-5 total for all the elements including spirit. (This is a new technique I have been trying and I really like it-good practice for visualization)

6. Call the quarters

Watchtower of the East, Brother of Wisdom and Knowledge!

I invite thee to join me in my sacred circle.  Hail and welcome!

Watchtower of the South, Father of Love and Passion!

I invite thee to join me in my sacred circle.  Hail and welcome!

Watchtower of the West, Sister of Empathy and Emotion!

I invite thee to join me in my sacred circle.  Hail and welcome!

Watchtower of the North, Mother of Fertility and Plenty!

I invite thee to join me in my sacred circle.  Hail and welcome!

7. Invite the Goddess and God to join.

“I call to the God. Spark of the Spirit Eternal,
Lord of the Wild Hunt, Judge of Gods and Men.
Shining God of the Sun’s rays, Who walks with me through all my days,
Into my circle, I invoke you, To bless and guide all that I do.
Hail and welcome.”

“I call to the Goddess. Beauty of the Green Earth,
White Moon among the Stars, Mysteries of the Waters.
Shimmering Goddess of the Moon’s light, Who guides me through the dark of night,
Into my circle, I invoke you. To bless and guide all that I do.
Hail and welcome.” (Retrieved November 16, 2009 from http://blessedbe.sugarbane.com/fullmoons.htm)

My patron Goddess Aeracura and her consort Pan (the great Horned God)

Isis and Horis (as well-I usually work with a couple of deities and yes I mix pantheons)

8. Meditate on the Goddess and God

9. Meditate on myself

10. Scry using a bowl of water-try to see “my true self” and where my life is going

11. Thank the Divine and dismiss the Goddess and God

12. Thank and dismiss the quarters

13. Close the circle-chant three times “I am protected by your might oh gracious Goddess day and night. Thrice around the circle’s bound. Sink all evil into the ground.”

The circle is open, but is not broken.  May the peace of the God and Goddess go with me from this place.  Merry meet, merry part and merry meet again.  Blessed be!

14. Ground my energy.

2 Comments

  1. Feithline said,

    November 18, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    How did it go? It sounds beautiful. 🙂

  2. Hoi Sum said,

    November 18, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Hi Feithline,

    The first half of the ritual went really well. I especially enjoyed my meditation time…then unfortunately it all went down hill. I was pulled out of my meditation by the TV in the living room being turned up by my hubby. I then tried to remedy the situation (with headphones and things like that) and none of them would work. My husband ended up coming in to help and the whole ritual was put on hold. Needless to say my concentration was definitely gone by that point and it was a pain to try to pull my circle back up. I was actually pretty bummed about the whole situation, so my husband talked to me about it last night. We had a good talked and we discussed what I learned from the situation and things I could work on for next time. Things like not getting so upset and being so quick to get angry. I need to learn to relax more, to let things go, and to not expect perfection out of everything I do. Now I am glad things did not go perfectly because I think I learned more that way.
    Thanks for checking in Feithline!

    Blessings,
    Hoi Sum


Leave a Reply

